Radar Detector Laws (USA, Canada & Worldwide)

Radar Detector Laws
North America has some of the most lenient laws when it comes to using radar detectors. Compared to the rest of the world, fines are much lower and confiscation isn’t as likely.
Being in most states and the western provinces/territories of Canada would be the BEST places to operate a vehicle with a radar detector.
In this post, we will dive into different areas, starting with the USA, Canada, Europe, Asia, and Oceania. To the best of our research, you will see the countries where it is LEGAL and ILLEGAL to operate a radar detector.

Table of Contents

Radar Detector Laws in the UNITED STATES

radar detector laws in USA
As you can see, in the United States it’s LEGAL in 49 out of 50 states. The ONLY state prohibiting use is Virginia. Washington D.C (district) is also an area where they are illegal.
Outside of states and districts, radar detectors are illegal on all military bases and in all commercial vehicles over 10,000 pounds.
To play it safe, we recommend using apps like WAZE to see what police threats users have marked on the map.

It is LEGAL to operate a radar detector in:

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey 
  • New Mexico 
  • New York 
  • North Carolina 
  • North Dakota 
  • Ohio 
  • Oklahoma 
  • Oregon 
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island 
  • South Carolina 
  • South Dakota 
  • Tennessee 
  • Texas 
  • Utah 
  • Vermont 
  • Washington 
  • West Virginia 
  • Wisconsin 
  • Wyoming

It is ILLEGAL to operate a radar detector in:

  • Virginia
  • Washington D.C (district)
  • All Military Bases
  • Most Commercial Vehicles 

Radar Detector Laws in CANADA

radar detector laws in canada

Unlike with the United States, most of Canada has strict laws against possession and use of radar detectors. Only about 30% of provinces and territories have no laws in place to restrict use of radar detectors. Below are is the complete list:

It is LEGAL to operate a radar detector in:

  • British Columbia
  • Alberta
  • Saskatchewan

It is ILLEGAL to operate a radar detector in:

  • Ontario
  • Quebec
  • Nova Scotia
  • New Brunswick
  • Manitoba
  • Prince Edward Island
  • Newfoundland and Labrador
  • Northwest Territories
  • Yukon
  • Nunavut

Radar Detector Laws in EUROPE

In Europe, 75% or more of the countries prohibit the use of radar detector. The country with the strictest fines has to be Switzerland.
From our research, this is the most accurate list we could come up with. If you find certain aspects inaccurate, reach out and we would be happy to fix it.

It is LEGAL to operate a radar detector in:

  • United Kingdom
  • Bulgaria
  • Romania
  • Moldova
  • Ukraine
  • Russia

It is ILLEGAL to operate a radar detector in:

  • Portugal
  • Spain
  • France
  • Andorra
  • Monaco
  • Malta
  • Italy
  • Switzerland
  • Luxembourg
  • Denmark
  • Netherlands
  • Belgium
  • Lichtenstein
  • Germany
  • Poland
  • Slovenia
  • Slovakia
  • Croatia
  • Serbia
  • Kosovo
  • Macedonia (FYROM)
  • Montenegro
  • Greece
  • Turkey
  • Albania
  • Belarus
  • Estonia
  • Lithuania
  • Latvia
  • Finland
  • Sweden
  • Norway
  • Hungary
  • Czech Republic
  • Austria
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • San Marino 
  • Vatican City
  • Gibraltar
  • Cyprus
  • Armenia
  • Georgia
  • Azerbaijan

Radar Detector Laws in ASIA

radar detectors laws in asia
Popularity of radar detectors in Asian is nowhere near as it is in North America. There are MANY countries that have no active laws in place which prohibit use of radar detectors. However, just because there are no laws, does NOT mean you won’t get a fine.
In countries like Singapore, Saudi Arabia, North Korea, and a few others, there’s STRICT laws for such devices.
Below is the complete list of radar detector laws in Asia:

It is LEGAL to operate a radar detector in:

  • Russia
  • China
  • Palestine 
  • Israel
  • Pakistan
  • India
  • Bangladesh
  • Kazakstan
  • South Korea (Korea)
  • Hong Kong
  • Macau
  • Philippines
  • Taiwan
  • Japan
  • Indonesia

It is ILLEGAL to operate a radar detector in:

  • Malaysia
  • Brunei 
  • Myanmar
  • Singapore
  • North Korea
  • Oman
  • Saudi Arabia
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Bahrain
  • Qatar
  • Jordan
  • Turkey
  • Armenia
  • Azerbaijan
  • Georgia
  • Lebanon
  • Kuwait

Radar Detector Laws in OCEANIA

radar detector laws in oceania
Australia has a strict stance on radar detectors. Similar to Canada, they impose HIGH fines and in most cases, confiscate devices. Luckily, there’s one state that doesn’t prohibit the use of radar detectors, and that is Western Australia
New Zealand as a whole does not prohibit the use of radar detectors anywhere. There’s not even a law against laser jammers. In other countries such as Papua New Guinea, Vanuatu, Fiji and others, don’t appear to have laws in place.

It is LEGAL to operate a radar detector in:

  • New Zealand
  • Western Australia (state in Australia)

It is ILLEGAL to operate a radar detector in:

  • All of Australia (except for state of Western Australia)
  • Fiji
  • Vanuatu
  • New Caledonia (FR)
  • Papua New Guinea
  • All other surrounding island countries

That's It... For Now, Conclusion?

This covers most of the world when it comes to radar detector laws. As you can clearly see, there’s more places that either ban their use of have no laws in place. As stated above, your best place for using radar detectors is the United States or west Canada.
If you find this useful, please consider sharing it with your friends via social media.
See you in the next one!

Was this post helpful?

Leave a Comment

90 − 89 =